Home › Blog

Woodpecker vs Mailshake vs QuickMail: Costs at 1, 5 and 20 Mailboxes

By BobWork24 Oct 202610 min read
Cost comparison table for Woodpecker, Mailshake and QuickMail at 1, 5 and 20 mailboxes

At 20 warmed mailboxes, Woodpecker prices out at $115/month, Mailshake at $580/month, and QuickMail cannot be priced by mailbox from the supplied facts beyond its $49/month Starter base. If you compare only headline prices, you will choose on the wrong unit. This breakdown shows the math, the assumptions, and where free standalone warm-up plus usage-based sending fits.

Prices here were read from the vendors' own pricing pages on 17 October 2026. Check current pricing before you buy. The source pages are Woodpecker pricing, Mailshake pricing, and QuickMail pricing.

What are they charging for?

Cold email tools do not sell the same thing.

Woodpecker prices the base plan around contacted prospects. The listed starting price is $35/month for up to 500 contacted prospects. It includes unlimited users and mailboxes, but only 4 free warm-up slots. Extra warm-up slots cost $5/month per mailbox.

Mailshake prices Starter per user. The listed monthly price is $29/month, or $25/month yearly. Starter includes 1 mailbox and 1,500 sends/month. If every mailbox needs to send, the mailbox count drives the cost.

QuickMail prices Starter at $49/month. The supplied facts list 5,000 emails/month on Starter. They do not state a per-mailbox billing unit or mailbox cap, so you should not invent one. Treat QuickMail as a volume-based plan until you check the current mailbox rules.

This is why a simple headline price misleads. One tool charges mainly by prospect capacity. Another charges by user and mailbox. Another gives a monthly email pool, but the mailbox limit is not stated in the facts available here.

For broader platform context, see our guide to cold email campaign tools and the separate breakdown of pay-as-you-go cold email software.

What assumptions are used?

This comparison uses the lowest paid plan listed for each platform.

It assumes you want every mailbox warmed. That matters most for Woodpecker, because only 4 warm-up slots are included on the base plan. If you connect 20 mailboxes but warm only 4, your cost is different. That is not the scenario here.

The table uses monthly prices before tax, annual discounts, verification add-ons, data credits, mailbox hosting, or domain costs. It does not assume sending volume beyond the stated plan capacity.

It treats 1 mailbox as 1 sending email account. For cold outreach, that usually means one inbox that sends campaigns and receives replies. If you need separate user seats for teammates, your cost may change.

For Mailshake, Starter is listed as 1 mailbox. So 5 mailboxes means 5 Starter users in this math. For Woodpecker, unlimited mailboxes are listed, but warm-up slots add cost above 4. For QuickMail, the facts do not state a mailbox cap, so mailbox cost is not computable from the supplied data.

What does Woodpecker vs Mailshake cost?

Woodpecker is cheaper than Mailshake at 5 and 20 warmed mailboxes under these assumptions. Mailshake is cheaper at exactly 1 mailbox on monthly Starter pricing.

The gap appears because Woodpecker's extra warmed mailbox cost is $5/month after the 4 included warm-up slots. Mailshake Starter is $29/month per user and includes 1 mailbox.

That does not mean Woodpecker is always the better product. It means Woodpecker's billing unit is friendlier to multi-mailbox warm-up in this specific scenario.

Mailshake may still fit better if its sequence workflow, Outlook or Exchange support, or campaign model matches your team. Woodpecker may fit better if you want its 16-step sequences, inbox rotation, adaptive sending, free email verification, LinkedIn steps, and the option to buy domains or mailboxes in-app.

Here is the cost math.

ToolBilling unitIncluded capacity on entry planWarm-up on entry plan1 warmed mailbox5 warmed mailboxes20 warmed mailboxesWhat the number misses
Woodpecker$35/month baseUp to 500 contacted prospects4 free warm-up slots; extra slots $5/month each$35/month$40/month$115/monthProspect capacity may be the real limit
Mailshake$29/month per Starter user1,500 sends/month per Starter userUnlimited email warm-up for subscribers$29/month$145/month$580/monthAssumes 1 Starter user per mailbox
QuickMail$49/month Starter5,000 emails/monthFree AutoWarmer with MailFlow on every planFrom $49/monthNot computable from supplied mailbox factsNot computable from supplied mailbox factsCheck current mailbox caps and add-ons
BobWork Email Warm-up + OutboundWarm-up free; sending $2 per 1,000 emailsUp to 10 warm-up mailboxes free; outbound usage billed by sendsWarm-up free in shared network, or private pool per account$0 warm-up; sends billed by usage$0 warm-up; sends billed by usage$30 warm-up (10 extra at $3); sends billed by usageNot a full sales engagement suite; no Outlook yet

The big caveat is sending capacity.

Woodpecker's entry price is tied to 500 contacted prospects. If you need more prospects, the base comparison may understate your cost. Mailshake's Starter includes 1,500 sends/month per user, so 20 Starter users imply much more total monthly send capacity than Woodpecker's listed entry capacity.

QuickMail's Starter includes 5,000 emails/month. That could be enough for many small campaigns. But because the supplied facts do not state mailbox caps, you need to check the pricing page before using it for a 5 or 20 mailbox plan.

Why is QuickMail harder to price?

QuickMail is not easy to compare by mailbox from the facts available here.

Its Starter plan is listed at $49/month and includes 5,000 emails/month. Warm-up is included through Free AutoWarmer with MailFlow on every plan. The warm-up volume is set by the user.

The supplied facts do not say Starter is per mailbox. They also do not state how many mailboxes are included. So the honest number is not $49 for 20 mailboxes. It is also not 20 times $49. Both would be guesses.

This is where many cost comparisons go wrong. They force every product into the same billing model, even when the vendor does not sell that way.

If you are checking QuickMail, ask three questions before comparing it to Woodpecker or Mailshake:

  1. How many sending mailboxes are included on Starter?
  2. Does the 5,000-email monthly volume pool cover all connected mailboxes?
  3. Does warm-up volume count against any campaign or platform limit?

If the answers work for your use case, QuickMail can be efficient. It also offers inbox rotation and campaigns with warm-up wired in. That is more convenient than stitching separate tools together.

Is warm-up included?

All three paid platforms include some form of warm-up.

Woodpecker includes 4 free warm-up slots on the base tier. Extra warm-up slots are $5/month per mailbox. Its warm-up ramps to 50/day by default.

Mailshake lists unlimited email warm-up for subscribers. The volume is set by the user. Since Starter is 1 mailbox, the practical warm-up cost follows the user and mailbox cost.

QuickMail includes Free AutoWarmer with MailFlow on every plan. The volume is set by the user. The mailbox count is the part you need to verify.

Warm-up inclusion does not remove the need for a safe sending plan. You still need SPF, DKIM and DMARC set correctly. You still need real list quality. You still need replies, unsubscribes, and bounces handled.

A typical cold outreach plan keeps real sending conservative per mailbox. BobWork's own published practice is to keep real outreach at 30 to 50 emails per day per mailbox and add mailboxes rather than pushing one account harder. See the detailed guide on warming up while sending cold emails.

Warm-up should support that pattern. It should not be used to hide poor targeting or high bounce rates.

Where does free warm-up fit?

A free standalone warm-up tool fits when you do not need the full outreach platform yet.

BobWork Email Warm-up is free for up to 10 mailboxes per account. It uses a shared warm-up network by default, or a private pool per account if you prefer. One mailbox is enough to start in the shared network. A private pool needs at least two mailboxes.

The engine starts at 3 emails/day, adds 2 per day, and caps at 30/day by default. The cap is editable per mailbox up to 100. Weekends run at 30%. Sends are spread across 09:00 to 18:00 in the mailbox's own time zone.

The free pool does this step automatically. About 40% of received warm-up mail gets a reply, and threads end after 3 messages. Warm-up messages are plain text office notes without links or images.

For sending, BobWork Outbound is pay-as-you-go at $2 per 1,000 emails sent. It sends from your own warmed mailboxes. There is no monthly sending subscription. Mailboxes must pass the ready gate before they can send: 7 or more days warming, 7-day spam rate of 10% or lower, and at least 30 warm-up emails received.

That model is not the same as Woodpecker, Mailshake, or QuickMail.

Those platforms are cold email systems first. They offer campaign builders, mailbox management, and warm-up bundled into the paid product. BobWork is a free standalone warm-up tool first, with optional pay-as-you-go outbound.

If you already pay for Woodpecker, Mailshake, or QuickMail and your warm-up slots cover every mailbox, you may not need a separate warm-up tool. If you have more mailboxes than included slots, or you only need warm-up, standalone can lower the fixed cost.

For larger mailbox counts, see the cost breakdown for warming up 50 or more inboxes. If you are only comparing no-cost options, use the guide to free email warm-up for cold email.

Do this before buying

Use this checklist before choosing a platform. It prevents the common mistake: buying on the lowest headline price, then finding the real limit later.

StepActionHow to verify
1Count sending mailboxes, not just usersList every inbox that will send cold email this month
2Count monthly campaign volumeEstimate contacted prospects and total emails per month
3Map the vendor billing unitCheck whether pricing is by prospect, user, mailbox, or email volume
4Check warm-up coverageConfirm how many mailboxes can warm up on the selected plan
5Price the 20-mailbox caseInclude extra warm-up slots or extra users where stated
6Check provider supportConfirm Gmail, Microsoft, SMTP, or your actual provider is supported
7Keep sending limits conservativeSet per-mailbox daily sending caps before launching campaigns
8Recheck current pricingRead the vendor's pricing page before buying

Do not skip step 3. It is the whole comparison.

A 20-mailbox setup can be cheap on a tool that sells by account and charges a small warm-up slot fee. It can be expensive on a tool that sells one mailbox per user. It can be impossible to price without checking the vendor if mailbox limits are not stated.

Which workflow fits best?

Price matters, but workflow matters more once campaigns are live.

Woodpecker is strongest in this comparison when you want an outreach platform with multi-step sequences, inbox rotation, adaptive sending, free email verification, LinkedIn steps, and in-app domain or mailbox buying. Its base price also handles multi-mailbox warm-up cheaply after the 4 included slots.

Mailshake is strongest when its campaign and sequence engine fits your sales process, and when Outlook or Exchange support matters. Its cost scales directly with Starter users in this math, because Starter is listed as 1 mailbox.

QuickMail is strongest when you want campaigns and inbox rotation with warm-up wired in, and when its 5,000 emails/month Starter volume matches your sending plan. But you must verify mailbox limits, because they are not stated in the supplied facts.

BobWork fits a narrower job. Use it when you want free warm-up for Gmail, Google Workspace, Zoho, Lark, Yahoo, iCloud, Amazon SES, SendGrid, Mailgun, or any IMAP and SMTP mailbox. It does not support Outlook yet. If you also want simple sending, Outbound bills by usage at $2 per 1,000 emails.

A practical path is to separate the decision.

First, choose how many mailboxes you need. Second, choose the campaign workflow. Third, check whether included warm-up covers every mailbox. If it does not, compare the extra slot cost with a standalone warm-up setup.

If you want to test without adding fixed software cost, connect a mailbox to BobWork Email Warm-up, let it pass the ready gate, and keep warm-up running while you decide which campaign platform you actually need.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Woodpecker or Mailshake?

Using monthly starter prices read on 17 October 2026, Woodpecker starts at $35/month and Mailshake starts at $29/month. At 20 warmed mailboxes, Woodpecker is $115/month if only extra warm-up slots are added, while Mailshake is $580/month if each mailbox needs its own Starter user.

Does Woodpecker include email warm-up?

Yes. The base Woodpecker tier includes 4 free warm-up slots. Extra warm-up slots are $5/month per mailbox. Its warm-up ramps to 50/day by default, according to the vendor facts used for this comparison.

Does Mailshake include warm-up?

Yes. Mailshake lists unlimited email warm-up for subscribers. The Starter plan is priced per user and includes 1 mailbox and 1,500 sends/month, so mailbox count matters if you need many sending accounts.

Does QuickMail charge per mailbox?

The supplied pricing facts list QuickMail Starter at $49/month with 5,000 emails/month. They do not state a per-mailbox billing unit, so mailbox-based cost cannot be worked out from those facts alone. Check the current plan limits before buying.

Can I use free warm-up with a paid cold email tool?

Usually, yes, if your mailboxes can connect to both tools safely and your sending limits stay conservative. Keep warm-up running at a moderate level during campaigns and avoid stacking high warm-up volume with high cold outreach volume.

Where does BobWork fit against these platforms?

BobWork Email Warm-up fits when you mainly need warm-up or pay-as-you-go sending. Warm-up is free for up to 10 mailboxes, and Outbound costs $2 per 1,000 emails sent. It does not support Outlook yet.

Are annual discounts included in the cost table?

No. The table uses monthly prices to keep the comparison simple. Woodpecker lists 33% off annually, and Mailshake lists $25/month yearly versus $29/month monthly. QuickMail annual pricing was not stated in the supplied facts.

Warm up your mailboxes free

Connect Gmail, Google Workspace, Zoho or Lark. Your mailboxes warm on a shared network, or in a private pool of your own, starting today.

Start free