Instantly vs Smartlead Warm-Up: Pricing, Pools, and Free Alternatives
If you compare bundled warm-up only, Smartlead is cheaper at $39/month versus Instantly at $47/month, and neither has a free plan. If you ignore that bundle difference, you may pay for an outreach platform when you only need mailbox warming. This guide compares pricing facts, pool models, providers, and when free standalone warm-up is enough.
For a broader market view, see our free email warm-up tools comparison and the cheapest email warm-up tools breakdown. This page stays narrower: Instantly, Smartlead, and a standalone free baseline.
How did we compare them?
We compared facts available from vendor pricing pages read in early October 2026, plus our own product facts for BobWork Email Warm-up. Prices change, so check each vendor page before you buy.
We did not run inbox placement tests for this article. A pricing page cannot prove deliverability. It can show what you are buying: whether warm-up is bundled, whether a free plan exists, what the pool model is, which providers are listed, and whether Outlook is supported.
For Instantly, the facts used here are: no free plan, a 14-day no-card trial, Growth at $47/month, and warm-up bundled with the outreach platform. The provider facts list Google Workspace and Microsoft Outlook.
For Smartlead, the facts used here are: no free plan, a 14-day no-card trial, Base at $39/month, warm-up bundled, unlimited accounts, and a private, reward-based, limited-access network. The pricing facts list Outlook support; the broader provider list is not stated there.
For BobWork Email Warm-up, we use our own live product facts: free up to 20 mailboxes, no card, a shared warm-up network by default, optional private pool per account, and no Outlook support yet.
What are the warm-up facts?
Instantly and Smartlead are outreach platforms with warm-up included. BobWork is shown as a standalone warm-up baseline, not as an outreach platform.
| Tool | Free plan | Free limits | Cheapest paid | Pool type | Providers | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BobWork Email Warm-up | Yes, permanent | Up to 20 mailboxes; 3→30 warm-up emails/day per mailbox; cap editable up to 100; no card; no time limit | $2/mailbox/month above 20 | Shared network, or private pool per account | Gmail/Workspace, Zoho, Lark, Yahoo, iCloud, SES, SendGrid, Mailgun, any IMAP+SMTP mailbox | Not yet |
| Instantly | No | 14-day trial; 250 contacts; 1,000 emails; warm-up from day one; account deleted if not upgraded | $47/month Growth outreach plan | Pool of Instantly customer accounts; vendor states 1,000,000+ | Google Workspace, Microsoft Outlook | Yes |
| Smartlead | No | 14-day trial; 2,500 sends; 1,250 contacts | $39/month Base | Private, reward-based, limited-access network | Not stated on pricing page, except Outlook support | Yes |
The price ranking is clear: BobWork is free for supported providers, Smartlead has the lower paid entry price, and Instantly costs more at the entry tier. That does not prove one tool has better inbox placement.
The network comparison is also factual, but not decisive. Instantly states a large customer-account pool. Smartlead describes a private, reward-based, limited-access network. BobWork uses a shared warm-up network by default, or a private pool per account if you prefer.
If Outlook matters today, Instantly and Smartlead fit better. BobWork does not support Outlook yet because Microsoft requires OAuth. If Gmail, Google Workspace, Zoho, Lark, Yahoo, iCloud, SES, SendGrid, Mailgun, or generic IMAP+SMTP is enough, standalone warm-up can be enough.
Who is each tool for?
BobWork Email Warm-up
BobWork Email Warm-up is free forever for up to 20 mailboxes, with no card, no time limit, and a 3-to-30-emails-per-day ramp per mailbox.
Use it when you need warm-up, not a full outreach platform. It fits teams that already send from another campaign tool, CRM, or manual inbox workflow. One mailbox can start in the shared warm-up network because active mailboxes warm with other active mailboxes across accounts.
There are limits. Outlook and Microsoft 365 are not supported yet. Gmail and Google Workspace work through Google sign-in or IMAP with an app password, but Google shows an unverified-app notice because we have not done the CASA audit.
If you switch to private pool mode, you need at least two mailboxes. In that mode, only your own mailboxes exchange warm-up mail.
The engine starts at 3 emails per day, adds 2 per day, and caps at 30 per day by default. Weekends run at 30%. Sends are spread from 09:00 to 18:00 in the mailbox time zone.
About 40% of received warm-up mail gets a reply, and threads end after 3 messages. For exact ramp behaviour, see the BobWork warm-up strategy. If you are warming Gmail, use the Gmail warm-up guide alongside your DNS checks.
Instantly
Instantly has no free plan in the facts used here. Its Growth outreach plan is $47/month and bundles unlimited email accounts and unlimited warm-up.
Use it if you want warm-up inside an outreach platform rather than as a separate utility. The pricing facts list Google Workspace and Microsoft Outlook, so it fits those providers directly.
Its trial facts also matter: 14 days, no card, 250 contacts, 1,000 emails, and warm-up from day one.
The main limit is category fit. If you only need warm-up, you are comparing a $47/month outreach platform against free or lower-cost standalone tools. The daily warm-up volume per mailbox is not stated in the pricing facts used here.
Instantly describes its pool as customer accounts and states 1,000,000+. That number is a network-size claim, not a measured deliverability result. You still need correct DNS, low complaints, and sane real sending volume.
Smartlead
Smartlead has no free plan in the facts used here. Its Base plan is $39/month, with a 14-day no-card trial limited to 2,500 sends and 1,250 contacts.
Use it if you want an outreach platform with warm-up bundled and the lower listed entry price between these two paid tools. It also fits teams that need Outlook support, because Outlook is listed as supported in the pricing facts.
The main limit is provider detail. The pricing facts used here do not state the full provider list, except Outlook support. The daily warm-up volume per mailbox is also not stated on the pricing page.
Smartlead describes its network as private, reward-based, and limited-access. That is a pool-model difference from Instantly’s customer-account pool. It still does not prove better deliverability by itself.
Which network signals matter?
A warm-up network mainly helps create ordinary mailbox activity: sending, receiving, replies, thread history, and spam-folder recovery where supported. It cannot make a poor domain trustworthy on its own.
Pool type matters because it affects who your mailbox exchanges messages with. A customer-account pool means warm-up traffic happens between participating users. A restricted network may have different admission rules. A private account pool limits warm-up to your own mailboxes.
But pricing-page pool descriptions do not show inbox placement. They do not show complaint rate, spam-folder rate, sender reputation, or mailbox-level health. Treat network wording as a buying clue, not a result.
BobWork measures spam landings directly in receiving mailboxes. Its spam rate is the share of a sender’s warm-up mail that receiving mailboxes found in Spam over 7 days. It does not use third-party seed lists.
The free pool does this step automatically: warm-up mail found in Spam is moved to Inbox, marked read, labelled Warm-up, and archived after 24 hours. Only mail carrying the engine’s hidden header, or a known Zoho-API subject, is touched. Real mail is never read, moved, or answered.
If you want maximum address privacy in BobWork, choose private pool mode: Mailbox pool → Pool mode. Private mode means only your own mailboxes warm each other, so you need at least two mailboxes.
If you want more peer variety, a shared network may be better. BobWork’s shared warm-up network prefers peers on a different domain or provider twice as often. The live network count is shown in the dashboard, not published as a fixed prose number.
Which numbers change decisions?
Use this table before you connect mailboxes. It separates purchase facts from operating limits.
| Decision point | BobWork Email Warm-up | Instantly | Smartlead | What to do |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry cost | $0 up to 20 mailboxes | $47/month Growth | $39/month Base | If you only need warm-up, test free first for supported providers |
| Free plan | Yes, permanent | No | No | Do not treat a trial as a free plan |
| Trial | n/a | 14 days, no card | 14 days, no card | Use trials to test workflow, not long-term deliverability |
| Trial limits | n/a | 250 contacts; 1,000 emails; warm-up from day one | 2,500 sends; 1,250 contacts | Keep test scope inside the stated limits |
| Warm-up volume | 3→30/day by default; cap editable to 100 | Not stated per mailbox | Not stated per mailbox | Ask support before buying if volume is the reason |
| Provider risk | No Outlook yet; Google unverified-app notice | Google Workspace and Microsoft Outlook listed | Full provider list not stated, Outlook yes | Match the tool to your actual mailbox provider |
| Private pool | Optional per account; needs 2+ mailboxes | Not stated on pricing page | Network described as private, reward-based, limited-access | Ask what “private” means before you rely on it |
| Ready gate | 14+ days warming, 7-day spam rate ≤3%, and 30 received emails | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Do not start full campaigns on day one |
For domain health, warm-up is only one part. SPF, DKIM, and DMARC need to pass. You can check those with the SPF checker, DKIM checker, and DMARC checker.
Google’s sender guidelines say spam complaint rates should stay below 0.1% and never reach 0.3% or higher. Use the primary Google email sender guidelines if you send to Gmail users.
If you use Microsoft mailboxes, review Microsoft’s sender guidance and authentication expectations in Microsoft’s anti-spam documentation. For message authentication standards, DMARC is defined in RFC 7489.
When is free warm-up enough?
A free standalone warm-up tool is enough when you already have a sending tool and only need mailbox activity. That is common when campaigns run through a CRM, sales engagement tool, or careful manual sending.
It is also enough when you are still validating infrastructure. If SPF, DKIM, or DMARC is broken, buying a larger platform will not fix the DNS problem. Fix the records first, then warm the mailbox.
Free is enough for many early ramps. BobWork’s published practice is 14 days for an existing domain and 3–4 weeks for a new domain. During live campaigns, keep warm-up around 10–15/day and keep real outreach around 30–50/day per mailbox.
Use more mailboxes instead of forcing one mailbox to send too much. That is safer than pushing high daily volume through a new or recovering sender. If a mailbox rises above a 5% spam rate, pause it for a few days.
A paid outreach platform makes more sense when you need campaign features too. Instantly and Smartlead bundle warm-up with outbound workflows. If you need lead lists, sequences, inbox rotation, team controls, or reporting inside the same product, compare the full platform.
For a wider comparison across paid and free plans, see top email warm-up tools and free warm-up plans versus trials.
Choose by your constraint
If your main constraint is price, BobWork has the lowest entry cost because it is free up to 20 mailboxes. That ranking is based only on entry cost. It does not include outreach platform features, because BobWork is not an outreach platform.
If your main constraint is Outlook support, choose between Instantly and Smartlead. BobWork does not support Outlook yet. Instantly lists Google Workspace and Microsoft Outlook. Smartlead lists Outlook support, while its full provider list is not stated on the pricing page.
If your main constraint is the lower paid entry point between Instantly and Smartlead, Smartlead is lower at $39/month versus Instantly at $47/month. That is a price comparison only.
If your main constraint is provider clarity, Instantly states Google Workspace and Microsoft Outlook in the facts used here. Smartlead’s full provider list is not stated on its pricing page. BobWork states many supported routes, but excludes Outlook for now.
If your main constraint is address exposure, ask each vendor exactly how pool matching works. Smartlead describes its network as private, reward-based, and limited-access. BobWork offers private pool mode per account, but you need at least two mailboxes for it.
If your main constraint is platform consolidation, Instantly and Smartlead are the right category to evaluate. They bundle warm-up into outreach products. A standalone warmer is better when you do not want to replace your sending stack.
Do this before choosing
Use this checklist before you pick a tool. It prevents the common mistake: comparing network names while ignoring DNS, provider support, and real sending volume.
| Step | Action | How to verify |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Write down your mailbox provider | Confirm whether it is Google Workspace, Outlook, Zoho, Lark, Yahoo, iCloud, SES, SendGrid, Mailgun, or another IMAP+SMTP mailbox |
| 2 | Check whether you need outreach features | If you need sequences and campaign management, compare Instantly and Smartlead as platforms |
| 3 | Check if free warm-up is enough | If you only need warming and your provider is supported, start with a standalone free tool |
| 4 | Verify SPF | Use your DNS panel or the SPF checker and confirm the record exists and matches your sending service |
| 5 | Verify DKIM | Check that the selector exists and the sending platform signs mail |
| 6 | Verify DMARC | Confirm a DMARC record exists, even if the starting policy is p=none |
| 7 | Start with a low ramp | Use 14 days for an existing domain or 3–4 weeks for a new domain |
| 8 | Watch spam landings | Pause a mailbox for a few days if its warm-up spam rate rises above 5% |
| 9 | Keep complaints low | For Gmail recipients, stay under Google’s 0.1% target and never reach 0.3% |
| 10 | Add mailboxes, not pressure | Keep real outreach typically around 30–50/day per mailbox and add mailboxes when you need more volume |
The practical answer is not that Instantly or Smartlead has a universally better warm-up network. The facts show Smartlead is cheaper at entry price, Instantly states clearer Google and Outlook provider coverage, and neither has a free plan. If you only need warm-up, start with the free warm-up tool for supported providers, then move to a paid outreach platform when you need platform features too.
What else should you know?
Is Instantly warm-up free?
No. Instantly has no free plan in the pricing facts used here. It offers a 14-day no-card trial, and the Growth outreach plan is listed at $47 per month with warm-up bundled.
Is Smartlead warm-up free?
No. Smartlead has no free plan in the pricing facts used here. It offers a 14-day no-card trial with stated trial limits, and the Base plan is listed at $39 per month.
Which is cheaper, Instantly or Smartlead?
Smartlead is cheaper on the listed entry price: $39 per month for Base versus $47 per month for Instantly Growth. That comparison does not judge features outside the pricing facts.
Which warm-up network is better?
The pricing facts do not prove one network has better deliverability. Instantly states a customer-account pool. Smartlead states a private, reward-based, limited-access network. Treat pool type as one factor, not a deliverability guarantee.
Can I use a free tool instead?
Yes, if you only need mailbox warming and your provider is supported. BobWork Email Warm-up is free for up to 20 mailboxes, but it does not support Outlook yet and Google may show an unverified-app notice.
Does BobWork need two mailboxes?
One mailbox can start in the shared warm-up network. If you switch to private pool mode, at least two mailboxes are needed because only your own mailboxes warm each other.
Should warm-up replace good sending practice?
No. Warm-up does not fix poor targeting, missing DNS records, spammy copy, or high complaints. Keep complaint rates low, authenticate the domain, and ramp real outreach slowly.
Frequently asked questions
Is Instantly warm-up free?
No. Instantly has no free plan in the pricing facts used here. It offers a 14-day no-card trial, and the Growth outreach plan is listed at $47 per month with warm-up bundled.
Is Smartlead warm-up free?
No. Smartlead has no free plan in the pricing facts used here. It offers a 14-day no-card trial with stated trial limits, and the Base plan is listed at $39 per month.
Which is cheaper, Instantly or Smartlead?
Smartlead is cheaper on the listed entry price: $39 per month for Base versus $47 per month for Instantly Growth. That comparison does not judge features outside the pricing facts.
Which warm-up network is better for deliverability?
The pricing facts do not prove one network has better deliverability. Instantly states a customer-account pool. Smartlead states a private, reward-based, limited-access network. Treat pool type as one factor, not a deliverability guarantee.
Can I use a free tool instead?
Yes, if you only need mailbox warming and your provider is supported. BobWork Email Warm-up is free for up to 20 mailboxes, but it does not support Outlook yet and Google may show an unverified-app notice.
Does BobWork need two mailboxes?
One mailbox can start in the shared warm-up network. If you switch to private pool mode, at least two mailboxes are needed because only your own mailboxes warm each other.
Should warm-up replace good sending practice?
No. Warm-up does not fix poor targeting, missing DNS records, spammy copy, or high complaints. Keep complaint rates low, authenticate the domain, and ramp real outreach slowly.
Warm up your mailboxes free
Connect Gmail, Google Workspace, Zoho or Lark. Your mailboxes warm on a shared network, or in a private pool of your own, starting today.